Last update on: 5:32 pm November 28, 2022 by fashionabc

The British Fashion Council – a not-for-profit organisation that harnesses the collective power of the industry to enable sustainable growth and strengthen British fashion in the global fashion economy – recently announced nominees for The Fashion Awards. The annual awards, which will take place on 5th December 2022 at The Royal Albert Hall, celebrates British and international individuals and businesses who have made outstanding contributions to the fashion industry during the year. The event is acclaimed for celebrating excellence in fashion while recognising and supporting the future pipeline of creative talent. The announced Fashion Awards 2022 nominees are (all listed in alphabetical order):

Designer of the Year 

  1. Demna for Balenciaga
  2. Jonathan Anderson for JW Anderson & Loewe
  3. Matthieu Blazy for Bottega Veneta
  4. Miuccia Prada and Raf Simons for Prada
  5. Pierpaolo Piccioli for Valentino

Model of the Year

  1. Adut Akech
  2. Bella Hadid
  3. Lila Moss
  4. Paloma Elsesser
  5. Quannah Chasinghorse

Independent British Brand

  1. Bianca Saunders
  2. Erdem
  3. JW Anderson
  4. Molly Goddard
  5. Wales Bonner

BFC Foundation Award

  1. Ahluwalia
  2. Chopova Lowena
  3. Nensi Dojaka
  4. S.S.DALEY
  5. Wales Bonner

Caroline Rush, Chief Executive, British Fashion Council, commented: “I would like to congratulate all nominees of The Fashion Awards 2022. Each one of them contributes a remarkable amount towards creating an industry that promotes self-expression and individuality, perpetuates joy and optimism and pioneers in innovation and positive change.  I look forward to celebrating the incredible work of our nominees, Leaders of Change, award winners and the wider industry on 5th December.”

The 2022 awards also include fifteen ‘Leaders of Change’; the designers, brands, creatives, and individuals who created positive change within the fashion industry this past year under three categories: Environment, People and Creativity. These will be revealed during the show. Other awards include ‘Isabella Blow Award for Fashion Creator’ and ‘Outstanding Achievement Award’.  Jefferson Hack will receive a ‘Special Recognition Award for Cultural Curation’ for empowering youth through creativity and for creating countless opportunities for next generation creatives. Additionally, the event will recognise fifty of the most innovative and inspiring young creative talent from around the world as part of ‘New Wave: Creatives’.

The Fashion Awards also raises funds for the British Fashion Council Foundation <Registered Charity Number: 1185152> which supports the future growth and success of the British fashion industry by focusing on talent, education, grant-giving and business mentoring and aims to improve equality and opportunity so that the fashion industry remains diverse and open to all, helping talented designers at all stages of their career from school through to becoming a global fashion brand. In the financial year 2021-22, the British Fashion Council remitted over £1.3m in funds to fashion designers and scholars.